After much deliberation we have decided to delay opening for a few weeks; we have lots of exciting things going on in the background and lots of weddings and events to prepare for but, we will be back with a bang in a few weeks! If you would like to enquire about wedding, event or funeral flowers please contact us by phone or email. Gussie & Claire xx

Summer Crew: A Tale Of Salmon Fishing On Speyside

Summer Crew: A Tale Of Salmon Fishing On Speyside

Regular price
£8.99
Sale price
£8.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included.

The Summer Crew is a gently comic novel about Scottish rural life set in the vein of Para Handy or Compton MacKenzie, but set in the late 1980s based around salmon netting at the mouth of the River Spey. Summer Crews were a mix of permanent employees, students and part time workers, hired to fish the summer grilse run for the months of June, July and August and the novel follows the progress of the new recruits as they struggle to learn the ropes and integrate with the older, more experienced crew. With evocative b/w line illustrations by the author, the tale covers the local agricultural show, the village fete, a grouse shoot and the wider community.

Author: Bennett, John